Take a Class
North Carolina requires that every applicant first attends concealed carry handgun training with a certified NC concealed carry instructor. You may obtain a list of local approved instructors at your sheriff's office. This course is a mandatory 8 hours, consisting of handgun safety, basic pistol fundamental instruction, concealed carry methods and safety, safe storage, North Carolina laws governing justified self defense, and where one may or may not carry concealed. There is a shooting qualification with requirements set by each individual instructor, but all must meet the minimum NC requirements of 30 shots, 10 from each distance of 3, 5, and 7 yards, with a minimum of 21 shots out of 30 on the target. If attendees pass a written examination on the legal information from the class and they pass the shooting qualification, they will be given a certificate of completion to be taken to their sheriff's office with their application to begin the permit process.
Submit an Application
Many NC counties process applications online now. Below you will find links for Henderson and surrounding counties for the convenience of those who have traveled to Hendersonville for a class with me. Click your county photo and you will be taken to your county's application or information about their process.
During the application process, you will need to have a list of all addresses at which you have lived since you were age 18. Having these written down before you enter the application site/process will make it much easier for you. During the online application process, you will set an appointment date to go in to your sheriff's office for fingerprinting and to finalize paperwork. Print but DO NOT SIGN your application. You will sign it in front of a notary at the office.
Go to Your Sheriff's Office for Fingerprinting and Paperwork
On the day of your appointment with your sheriff's office, you will need:
- Your printed but UNSIGNED application,
- The certificate from your concealed carry class,
- A photo ID/driver's license, and
- DD-214 papers, if you have former military service.
Once the paperwork has been submitted, the sheriff's office will request your criminal background check, mental health background check, and has up to 90 days to approve or deny your permit. Most counties listed run a 4-6 week return time. They will notify you by call, text, or email, when the process is completed and your permit is awaiting pickup.